My hair texture is changing!

Last night after my usual oil prepoo and shampoo wash, i let my hair air dry for about 2 hours. I started feeling the new growth behind my ears and nape and noticed that it was really coarse and wiry (this was before i deep conditioned). My hair is generally soft so i that was quite unexpected. Yes i’ve not been moisturizing and sealing my hair as i should but that can’t be the reason.

Anyway, i also noticed that that new growth was forming spirals. My natural hair is wavy, not curly or spirally. Wavy. So now am wondering if the texture of my hair is changing. Its becoming coarse and spirally. I normally say that my hair type is 3a, 3b and maybe a bit of 4a in the back. It now seems like am moving more towards type 4 and not 4a, more like 4b or something.

I took a few pictures but my camera can’t quite focus as i’d like it to, so the pics may not show what am talking about.

Am only 8 weeks post relaxer with very little new growth. I will take other pics later on in my stretch when i have a good amount of new growth.

Edited to add: Here is what my new texture is like at 26 weeks post

texture 4

texture 2

In light of these new (texture) changes, i have decided not to do any henna treatments during this stretch. Henna stretches out my new growth. I want to see how spirally my new growth can get so i will leave it as is.

I did some online reading to find out why changes in hair texture occurs. This is what i came up with:

1) As our body ages, we see changes in our hair texture.

2) The diameter of the hair thickens as we enter childhood or early adolescence. As we move into adulthood and then older, the hair again changes, becoming finer again in our 40s and 50s. All of these changes are genetically programmed.

3) Hair changes every five to seven years - in diameter, amount of curl, and thickness

4) What is known, is that hormones have a major effect on hair texture. “Hormones influence the hair in several different ways since they are regulators of the body’s metabolism”.
* Thyroxine and triiodothyronine are both produced by the thyroid, and a deficiency of either can cause hair to become brittle or fall out (effectively ‘turning off’ the follicles so no new hair grows in).
* The hormone androgen is produced by the adrenal gland, and directly affects hair growth; an overabundance can cause excess facial hair in women as well as thinning of hair on the scalp.
* Insulin is produced by the pancreas, and an imbalance in levels can cause hair loss.

5) Changes in the muscles at the base of every follicle are the key to the changes in hair texture that take place over time. These muscular changes, often come during puberty, chemotherapy or menopause, when hormones and medications may affect the muscle tone.

6) Certain medications can also cause distinct changes in hair texture; chemotherapy patients who experience the loss of their hair during treatment often report their hair grows back in curly where it was once straight, or vice versa. The reason for this is unknown. Vitamins have been shown to be helpful for some who are experiences drastic changes in hair texture, but a dermatologist should be consulted before starting any type of new health regimen.

Source:
another source

A different source explained it this way:

Hormonal shiftslike those that occur during puberty, pregnancy, and menopausecan alter the shape of the hair follicle. (Think of the follicle as a tube: If it has a slight curve, the hair grows in curly; if it doesn’t, the hair grows in straight.) Hormonal changes can also affect the diameter of the hair, making it coarser or finer.

The same site also stated that: “As your texture changes, consider switching shampoo and conditioner. If you had thick, curly hair that’s now growing in straighter and finer, you’ll have better hair days if you choose lighter products formulated for your new type”.

Well my hair is growing back a coarse and curlier so i guess i’ll have better luck with thicker products instead (which is what i’ve been using anyway)

In short; Age, Diet, Hormones and Medication seem to be the cause for changes in hair texture.

Am in my 20′s and according to Good hair diarieshair should be at its thickest and strongest at this stage. My diet hasn’t changed at all (i eat well balanced meals – many thanks to my Mummy) and the only supplement i take (have been taking since last year – not consistently though) is Cod Liver Oil which is rich in Vitamins A & D and also Omega 3 fatty acids. I am not on any kind of medication either.

So in my case, i guess its hormonal changes. I don’t know why that is happening because i am way past puberty, i am not pregnant nor am i undergoing menopause.

This is a long post! And, i’m overthinking stuff. I’ll just let my hair grow and not pay it any mind :D

3 thoughts on “My hair texture is changing!

  1. Pingback: Pre-relaxer update | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

