GOING FROM SL TO APL

As i stated in the previous post, i have started to notice that i am retaining length. This is a great thing. The only issue is that i am at that awkward stage: shoulder length.

Getting to arm pit length seems to be a challenge to many people and i am no exception to that seeing that i have been at this length for close to 3 years 😦 I have been at APL before but its taking me a while to get back there. I would very much like to reach this goal by the end of the year which is possible because it takes most people 7-9 months on average to get there with proper hair care.

I am taking good care of my hair but just so am not disappointed if i fail to reach that goal by then, i will aim for full SL by the end of the year. I have 8 months to go. I have done a bit of research on how to move from SL to APL and this are some of the things i have learnt:

1) Moisturize and seal often (i prefer doing this nightly).

2) Get regular trims every 3-4 months to get rid of split ends which weaken hair and thus cause breakage.

3) Keeping heat use at the a minimum.

4) Ensure proper moisture-protein balance

5) Stretch relaxers for at least 8 weeks

6) Follow a working regimen consistently

7) Have a balanced diet

8) Avoid over manipulating the hair

9) Protective style.

The one thing that i have a problem with here is the last point which not surprisingly is the most effective. I have been wearing my hair down for the past 9 weeks or so. I love wearing my hair down these days because i used to wear it up a lot…doing something different now. Sadly, if i want to get to APL sooner that later, i will have to give in to protective styling. I do not want to do buns and so i am thinking of using hair clips. I don’t quite know what kind but i try and find something that i can use to create a cute protective style…i don’t want to look boring.

One thought on “GOING FROM SL TO APL

  1. Pingback: APL, WHERE THOU AT? *sigh* | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

