Relaxer update @ 7 months post

This is going to be a long post. I took some not-so-good quality pics with my phone once again since am not brave enough to whip out my camera in the salon šŸ™‚ Some of the people who saw me taking pics looked at me funny :/ Whatever…its for my blog!

(Am having trouble uploading the pics right now but they’ll be up tomorrow. Pics are up already lol! You can check out the pics i have just added to my 26 weeks post update post here).

One more thing before i get into it, you can check out my last relaxer update here.

Today, 1st March 2013, marks 7 months since i got my last relaxer touch up. Its also 16 months since i started my hair journey.

I never plan to go for this long without getting a relaxer. Last time i wanted to stretch for 3 months, then decided i didn’t have enough growth so i stretched for an extra month, and i guess my hair felt manageable so i stretched longer…well, thats how i got to 28 weeks post.

I had some serious shrinkage going on here. I’ve had this striped sweater for so long and never thought to use it for length checks!

taken about 2 days ago

taken about 2 days ago – pre relaxer

Anyways, here is how my relaxer day went…

I had a 2p.m appointment with Jimmy, my hairstylist, but go figure, i got there at 2:57p.m. Yep, almost 1 hour late! I cannot even begin to explain why i was late.

I found Jimmy working on another client so i decided to get my eyebrows done first (threading). That only took about 5 minutes. The relaxing process began about 30 min later.

puffy ponytail...pre-relaxer

puffy ponytail…pre-relaxer

As usual, he sectioned my hair and applied some (baby) powder – basically based my scalp to prevent burning. Then he applied the relaxer throughout my new growth, then combed a small section of new growth with a rat-tail comb (i don’t mind this), applied relaxer to that section and did the smoothing. He did this throughout my head. Then repeated once.

scalp was based with (baby) powder

scalp was based with (baby) powder. Jimmy mixing the relaxer

This time round, i had the relaxer in my hair for about 15 minutes (last time i had it in for 25 min). I was afraid i would experience burning because last night my scalp was really itchy. I tried not to scratch…i tried. I did not want to postpone getting my hair done so i was gentle šŸ™‚ If i go for more than 1 week without washing my hair, my scalp starts to itch. I did not burn, i only experienced a mild stinging sensation…is that what a relaxer burn feels like?

right before rinsing out relaxer. hair was in pigtails  piled on my crown

right before rinsing out relaxer. hair was in pigtails piled on my crown

After that, the relaxer was rinsed out for about 3 min then my hair was neutralized 4 times. Deep conditioner application took a min (it takes me longer than that when i do it myself – am thorough). I sat under the dryer for 15 min, got the deep conditioner rinsed out, got my hair roller set, sat under the dryer for 30 min (drying), got a trim, then Jimmy did something similar to the saran wrap method – he used a hair net instead of saran wrap/cling film. Then he styled it. I was in the salon for 2.5 hrs!

deep conditioning + my overstuffed bag

deep conditioning + my overstuffed bag

Rollerset

Rollerset

drying

drying

I think he used a lot of products in my hair – its not weighed down or anything, he just kept adding stuff to it. I didn’t mind the leave-in conditioner and moisturizer, but after that he used some sort of ‘snake oil’ on my edges…yea, snake oil. He also added hair polisher, some grease to my scalp (Motions), he used 2 types of sheen spray- Sofnfree argan oil from morocco sheen spray & ors sheen spray (i don’t know why)…i think that was it lol!

some of the products used

some of the products used

Parnevu T-tree Leave-in conditioner

Parnevu T-tree Leave-in conditioner

Sofnfree argan oil sheen spray

Sofnfree argan oil sheen spray

The Snake oil

The Snake oil

Here is a better pic that i found on the web: Click to enlarge

Nitro Canada Super Snake Oil

Nitro Canada Super Snake Oil

I’ve been hearing the ‘Garnier Fructis – sleek and shine serum’ being mentioned a lot lately. I think it could be used as an alternative to this ‘Nitro snake oil’.

Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine anti-frizz serum

Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine anti-frizz serum

I mentioned in my previous post that i had not been combing my hair because my new growth was really kinky. Last night however, i gently combed throughout my new growth because i did not want someone else trying to detangle that mess – doubt they’d be gentle. Here’s the kicker, you should have seen Jimmy going through it with the rat-tail comb, lol, it was funny. It was almost as if i hadn’t done anything last night. He tried to be gentle but that new growth seemed to have a mind of its own. I mentioned to him that that was not how it was when i was there for a relaxer touch up last August and he agreed.

Jimmy said my hair is longer, yippie! He also said its healthy. I told him not to trim a lot because my ends were not so bad – as usual, i was stern about it, he laughed and then i think he took off more than last time. Or maybe i imagined it. I don’t know. But its still long…i think.

All done

All done

You can see my curls were combed out in the above pic, but by the time i got home, this is what my hair looked like:

rollerset

rollerset

I wanted to do pin curls for the night so that i could maintain the rollerset, but i was too tired to do that. I combed out the curls and did the traditional wrap it instead.

my hair looks way shorter here :(

my hair looks really short here when compared to this next pic šŸ˜¦

taken about 2 days ago

taken about 2 days ago

I don’t like how my hair looks now…like, “where’s the thickness???” I can’t wait to wash it. I need it to be fluffy & full! I’ll do a proper length check after my first wash.

I don’t know how long am going to stretch for this time. I don’t want to do another long stretch though, so am thinking maybe 8 – 12 weeks. I know that would be a really short stretch for me but am going to try it and see what happens.

8 thoughts on “Relaxer update @ 7 months post

  1. Waiting for the photos meanwhile I am a seasoned stretcher! Because I use castor oil twice a week and before that I used to use some hair food my new growth is manageable. Recently I found out that my hair loves AVJ and it makes my new growth very soft so I incorporate that into my regimen as well. Ok photos please…do you have a photo of the snake oil as well? That is strange doubt if I would ever put that on my head I hate snakes with a passion!

    • The pics are up lol! that took forever šŸ™‚ My last wash (pre-relaxer wash) was 2 weeks ago and i have been slacking off on my regimen (not moisturizing and sealing) so my new growth was nowhere close to being soft plus the new texture (i asked and was told its 3c/4a) was…interesting. I included a pic of the snake oil…i saw the name after he applied it *cringe*.

  2. Pingback: 1 week post relaxer | hairjunkie2011

  3. Pingback: March relaxer vs May relaxer – 2013 | hairjunkie2011

  4. Pingback: 5 days post | hairjunkie2011

  5. Pingback: I cut my hair! | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

