Henna # 3

    On Thursday night-15th March (after posting this), i did an overnight prepoo using a coconut-peppermint oil mix. I first massaged the oil onto my scalp then applied some to my hair and left it in for about 6hrs.

    At 4 a.m i was awake so i decided to make a henna paste.

    Henna Paste

    Henna Paste

    I stayed up for a bit then fell asleep till my alarm went off at 7:30. I kept hitting the snooze button and when i couldn’t take it anymore (15 min later), i got out of bed. Boy was i sleepy! I like to let the henna sit for 3hrs as per the instructions on the pack.

    I have never done a full strength henna treatment, i always make a gloss by mixing it with conditioner and an oil but this time, i was operating on zombie mode and forgot to make a gloss!!!

    I just got my gloves, ripped one while trying to get it on (i didn’t have an extra pair 😦 ), grabbed my henna paste, dragged myself to the sink and started applying it to my hair. Application wasn’t smooth/easy. It felt like i couldn’t properly coat all of my hair and so the process took longer than usual. When i was all done, it hit me…”i didn’t make a gloss”!

    henna time

    henna time

    henna stain

    henna stain

    All i could think off was how red my hair would turn. I was a little scared. I covered my hair with a plastic bag and scarf, set my alarm to go off after 3hrs then went back to bed.

    Yea, so my phoned died on me (alarm didn’t go off) and i woke up 6hrs later! It was as if i had been roofied! I was still so darn sleepy! I didn’t even want to think about how much the henna had dyed my hair in those 6hrs. Murphy’s law was surely at work.

    I hoped into the shower immediately to rinse my hair (lets not talk about what the floor looked like). I rinsed, rinsed and rinsed and still couldn’t tell if i had gotten all the henna out. Then i did 2 cowashes (i used so much conditioner).

    after henna & cowash

    after henna & cowash

    after henna & cowash

    after henna & cowash

    My hair felt ok. Soft but not as soft as it usually is. I was going to end my wash routine there but then decided to do a deep conditioning treatment because i could still smell the henna in my hair.

    air drying before deep conditioning

    air drying before deep conditioning

    air drying

    air drying

    I deep conditioned for 3hrs and then rinsed my hair and that was it. My hair felt butter soft and smelled nice 🙂 I applied my products then let it air dry in a slick bun.

    deep conditioning time

    deep conditioning time

    with leave-in conditioner only

    with leave-in conditioner only

    air dry in a bun

    air dry in a bun

    My hair has a reddish undertone to it. Its not noticeable really unless am out in the sun…my cousin noticed it yesterday while we were out. I think i will continue using Amla oil since i will be hennaing often. Amla oil naturally darkens hair.

    before henna @10 days post and after henna @ 13 days post

    before henna @10 days post and after henna @ 13 days post

    shed hair

    shed hair

    The amount of hair that am shedding now is way less than what i used to consider normal! I have therefore decided to do 3 other consecutive full strength henna treatments. After that, i will go back to doing henna gloss treatments. Hopefully this will strengthen my hair further and continue nourishing my hair follicles.

    Next time i’ll make sure i have an extra pair of gloves.

One thought on “Henna # 3

  1. Pingback: Update + Henna treatment #4 | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

