DIY Banana hair mask

Am back from yet another unintentional hiatus.

I was away from home this past weekend and so my wash day got pushed to Monday which happened to be a public holiday here in Kenya – Mashujaa aka Heroes day which meant no work 😀

Anyway, when I got back on Sunday evening, I did an overnight oil prepoo then washed my hair using the Suave shampoo.

Suave shampoo

This is turning out to be my favorite shampoo despite it having sulfates. It is milder though, and therefore doesn’t leave my hair feeling stripped. It gets my hair clean.

After the wash, I wrapped my hair up in a towel as I prepared the hair mask. I don’t care much for homemade hair treatments but since I had some overripe bananas, I decided to use those instead of throwing them away. I also had very little deep conditioner left and didn’t want to use my ORS replenishing conditioner (I had used it the previous weekend. That stuff’s expensive over here, or at least for me it is. Can’t be using it randomly!)

I used about 7 bananas – I know, too many. I poured the excess into a container and stuck it in the freezer to snack on later. It was too sweet but then again I have a sweet tooth so I thoroughly enjoyed it 😀

Bananas

all peeled

almost done

done

smooth

I froze the extra batch to snack on later

I froze the extra batch to snack on later

oil prepoo

oil prepoo

Banana hair mask

Banana hair mask

Tangled mess after rinsing...it happens at times

Tangled mess after rinsing…it happens at times

I only added coconut oil to the mask. I had run out of both honey and glycerin (its time to lift my shopping ban).

I applied the mask to damp hair, covered with a plastic bag and scarf then left it on for a few hours. I used cold water to rinse off the mixture. The result was hard hair. Yes. Not soft hair like other people seem to get after doing a similar treatment. Hard. It was as if I had done a protein treatment.

I wasn’t disappointed, it was just unexpected. I was due for a strengthening treatment anyway. Bananas contain potassium which strengthens and fixes damaged hair. This explains my outcome I guess.

I followed up with a cowash (used Enliven conditioner) to soften up my hair and that worked fine.

conditioner

conditioner

However, there was some residue left on my comb after detangling. Guess I didn’t rinse off the banana well enough or even cowash properly.

This was my first time using a banana hair mask and I don’t see myself using it again anytime soon. For anyone who decides to try this out, I would highly suggest that you blend the banana to achieve a smooth consistency. Mushing it up in a bowl using a fork will result in you having chunks of bananas in your hair and getting those off is not an easy task. Also, rinse/wash/cowash thoroughly afterwards.

I might make an avocado hair mask next weekend. I’ve done that before so I don’t expect any surprises there.

Am having computer issues so pics will be up when I get it fixed. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

