Relaxer update – Dec 2013

I relaxed my hair at 15 weeks post

December 2013

December 2013

This post should have been up a long time ago but i didn’t have the pics with me (plus editing pics is not fun). Now that i kinda have that sorted, lets just dive in shall we? πŸ˜€

Went shopping!

Went shopping!

ORS relaxer - Normal strength

ORS relaxer – Normal strength

Expires in September 2015!

Expires in September 2015!

Paid KSh.560 which is roughly $6.47

Paid KSh.560 which is roughly $6.47

This time i  got an extra sachet of the replenishing conditioner

This time i got an extra sachet of the ‘replenishing conditioner’

My hair had been in a braided bun for four days. I took it down to detangled (my new growth was dry and kinda rough. It was also tangled…a bit). Then i created four sections and based my scalp with vaseline. I applied some to my already relaxed hair paying special attention to my ends. Here is something i forgot to do; base my nape, ears and behind my ears! Thank God i did not experience any burning there! How could i forget that???! Like really?

Hair had been in a braided bun for about 4 days

Hair had been in a braided bun for 4 days

After detangling.

After detangling.

I usually work on my hair in these 4 sections

I usually work on my hair in these 4 sections

I had 2 pairs of latex gloves on hand. I prefer using those though i have used the ones that come in the kit for my henna applications and i like them. They fit really well

I prefer using latex gloves

Β latex gloves

base & activator

This time round i unintentionally kept the relaxer in my hair for a long time. Its almost as if i had forgotten how to apply it. The smoothing step was the worst, i had forgotten to bring my rat-tail comb to the sink with me so i had to go back to my room to find it…time wastage.

Then my scalp begun to tingle, i guess thats how the burning starts but lucky for me, i was done with both the application and smoothing process. Do you want to guess how fast i hopped into the shower? Yea.

Some of the products i used

Some of the products i used

I was in there for about an hour! Of course i started by rinsing off the relaxer (for like 10 minutes πŸ˜€ ), then i neutralized four times (on that last wash i let the shampoo sit in my hair for a while as i carried on with my regular shower routine).

I took some shower-hair pics but there was too much steam in there so the pics were not clear. Once the steam cleared up i decided to use cold water so i could get a good shot but i was freezing! I kept moving away from the water. I wonder how i managed to do this last time.

Left pic: Sept 2013. Right pic: Dec 2013.

Left pic: Sept 2013. Right pic: Dec 2013.

I had deep conditioner with me in the shower so i just slathered that on after rinsing off the shampoo, clipped my hair up and stood under the (hot) running water for a very long time. Bliss! (before anyone points it out, i know hot water is not good but trust me, i needed it).

These are the two oils i add to the ORS replenishing conditioner on relaxer days.

Peppermint oil and Almond oil

Peppermint oil and Almond oil

I just went to bed with the deep conditioner in my hair (i was so tired), woke up at 4am, rinsed my hair and blew it out on cool till it was dry. It felt so soft and moisturized. I decided to do a braid out so i moisturized and sealed it, did two french braids then i went back to bed.

Now, i never do braid outs on dry hair so i wasn’t sure how this one was going to turn out. Luckily for me, it was a success. The curls actually held. They were looser though.

My hair was fluffier (so full) and it fell lower, to about full shoulder length. Normally it falls to about grazing shoulder length.

I have to ‘talk’ about my little freak out whilst rinsing off the relaxer. This has happened before. My hair felt SO straight i was afraid i had over-processed it. I felt as if i had very little hair on my head! At that point, i knew using heat to straighten it afterwards was out of the question.

Thats all i have to share about my relaxer day. I still haven’t straightened my hair so i don’t have updated length check pics BUT they’ll be up πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Relaxer update – Dec 2013

  1. Pingback: Relaxer update| January | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

