Rinsing henna from your hair

“…Does the henna totally wash out the first time or does it require consecutive washes? What has your experience been like?”

I got these questions from Agnes and once again, answering them in a post seems like a good idea. To see what brought on the queries, please check out the comment section in this post.

Please note that these answers are based on my own personal experience.

A: It is possible to rinse off all the henna in just one wash. It does however take a lot of time, and its tiring. Focus more on your hair and not your scalp when rinsing, that way your scalp doesn’t get all sensitive. And be gentle.

I sometimes use cold water to rinse off henna and when i do, i make sure the water is clear when am done – no trace of henna. However, i noticed that during the following wash day (like a week later), there are usually traces of henna still left in my hair.

I have also found that if i were to immediately follow up the cold water rinse with a hot/warm water rinse, the water ends up being all brown..like i hadn’t properly rinsed off the henna the first time. The conclusion i have drawn from these observations is that cold water does not get all the henna out. (That next wash day usually involves hot water use).

I would therefore recommend using hot/warm water to rinse off henna as opposed to using cold water. I have posts (like this one) where i mention how i thought i had rinsed off all the henna only to find that that was not the case.

Moving on, since the whole rinsing step can be such a daunting task, i usually rinse my hair till i think all the henna is out (or till i can’t take it anymore), then i apply deep conditioner. I don’t worry about still having traces of henna in my hair BUT, when when rinsing off the deep conditioner, i make sure the water runs clear and that i get all the deep conditioner and henna out. See this post. This works for me as i don’t get so tired plus my hair hasn’t suffered from not rinsing off all the henna the first time.

When i first started hennaing my hair, i realized that i personally didn’t need to deep condition afterwards. Using a regular conditioner worked just fine to soften my hair (henna makes hair hard and rough to the touch). The only problem with that was that i was using a lot of conditioner…it was a total waste. I now follow up the henna treatment with a deep conditioning treatment. The amount of deep conditioner i use on henna days is the same as the one i use on my non-henna days so no product wastage.

8 thoughts on “Rinsing henna from your hair

  1. Thank you so much for your detailed answer Joyce. I will try out your method next time I henna my hair. What you have said is true, because, I also noticed that when I used warm water on my second wash day the brown henna colour was still present. Also, the fact that I can save my conditioner has really got me hooked, lol. 😀

  2. I love Henna Hair dye, I actually just used it for the first time last week and I am very pleased with the results. I use Morrocco Method Intl. henna because it is all natural and I just did a review of their henna earlier today.
    One of things they recommend you can add to their henna is the Morrocco Method Euro Oil, which is supposed to make the rinse easier. They also have a scalp massager that they recommend and both of those things make the rinsing job 10x easier.

  3. I have a method for rinsing henna that works well. (I have very thick coarse 4-ish hair. I have lost bobby pins for weeks) I run a tub of water, and i add a squirt of conditioner like bubble bath. I lay down and “mermaid” soak my hair for about 10 min. When I sit up I add lots of conditioner to my hair. I usually use some random very cheap. Then comb through and that get out leftovers. Then i mermaid rinse again, and deep condition which usually gets out the last. It might seem like a long process, but it is so much faster am easier than standing under the shower.

Leave a Reply

