Natural vs Relaxed…

…which has been easier for you?

(L) The night before i relaxed my hair (it was natural) (R) The next day after relaxer

(L) night before i relaxed my hair (R) next day after relaxing it

A: Relaxed.

Q:Why?

1) I love wearing my hair straight. I don’t do it often but when i do, the straightening process is now easier and i don’t have to use so much heat. I’ve mentioned before that in my Uni days, i used to get my natural hair straightened all the time. To get it the way i wanted (bone straight), a lot of heat had to be used and that eventually resulted in me having very damaged hair.

2) Its now easy for me to retain length because my hair is not constantly breaking off. With my natural hair, most of the breakage i experienced (after i learnt about healthy hair care) was the result of tangling. Of course my hair still tangles up every now and then, but not as much as it did when i was natural. Yes, i could have been gentle with it back then but…it sometimes gets so frustrating.

3) Doing my relaxed hair takes less time.

4) I love sleek looks on me. When my hair was natural, i would use a lot of gel to get it all sleek and laid. Now i rarely use gel because my hair behaves the way i want it to 🙂

Now, this is not to say that i would not consider going natural some day. Lord knows i’ve thought about it and i sometimes genuinely miss my natural hair but, am going to rock this relaxed look till i can’t no more 😀 Besides, my hair is healthier this way due to less heat use and less manipulation.

Oh yea, and i got the questions from CookieMon in the comment section of this post.

Have a great Saturday!

12 thoughts on “Natural vs Relaxed…

  1. I am transitioning to natural. The only reason I relaxed my hair was to run away from the blow drier. I used to have nightmares just from thinking of the horror and pain of my hair and scalp frying from the heat!! Especially when the hair dresser would apply Dax or Venus and say, “hata sio moto sana, vumilia ndio hapa mbele pashike!” Then the smoke would rise from my head, lol. I had no idea how to manage my hair without heat. Now that I know better, there’s no turning back. Been transitioning for seven months and I am loving the thickness of my hair.

    • You and i share the same story! Kind of. One of the main reasons reasons i stopped going to the salon and started doing my hair at home was due to those blow dryer torture sessions in the salon! Whenever i’d ask them to use less heat, they’d tell me that my hair was too thick and that there was no way it was going to get straight (and since i wanted it bone straight, i suffered in silence). Its a wonder our follicles didn’t get damaged!

      All the best on your transitioning journey 🙂

  2. my natural hair never used to shika blow dry.people used to wonder kwani what was up with my hair.finally i did get a salon which did intense ones mpaka inalala kama perm.it wasnt a walk in the park though.i hated blow dries yet i wanted straight styles.now with my relaxed hair,i dont use heat until when it is necessary and i still keep my straight style.

Leave a Reply

