Egg and Mayo hair treatment

Am 9 weeks 4 days post relaxer today!

9 weeks post relaxer - new growth

9 weeks post relaxer – new growth

I’ve been having a bad hair week due to an itchy scalp. All i could think off was dousing my scalp with coconut oil – that always offers some relief. However, i figured it would be better to just clarify my hair and freshen up my scalp. So, yesterday morning i woke up and shampooed my hair with Enliven shampoo (it has sulfates and leaves my hair-scalp squeaky clean). I let my hair airdry before proceeding to the next step.

shampoo

The plan was to follow up with a deep conditioning treatment (last one was about 2 weeks ago). This time round i decided to use mayonnaise. My mum had a full jar of the stuff and the expiry date on it was 4 days from today. She was going to toss it in the bin, but i told her i’d use it on my hair instead πŸ™‚

mayo3

A lil’ info about mayonnaise for hair
Like many store-bought hair masks, mayonnaise contains oils that deeply moisturize hair making it perfect for dry or chemically processed hair. It coats hair and in doing so, adds shine and protects it from heat styling. The protein present in mayonnaise strengthens weak strands thus preventing breakage. Vinegar, also present in mayo, restores damaged hair to a healthy pH. The contents of mayonnaise are also great for nourishing/conditioning the scalp.

stuff2

Hair mask

I added some honey, extra virgin olive oil and 1 egg to the mayonnaise, stirred it up and applied it to my freshly shampooed, nearly dried hair. Most sources advice against shampooing hair first but my scalp was too itchy and dirty; i just felt gross…had to do something about it first.

After detangling my hair  - before shampooing

After detangling my hair – before shampooing

Freshly shampooed and air-dried

Freshly shampooed and air-dried

Mayo hair mask

Application was easy due to the creamy consistency of the mixture. As usual, i slathered the stuff to my hair, basically coating every strand. My hair instantly felt hard…i could still manipulate it but i wasn’t soft at all. It felt like you’d expect it to after doing a protein treatment. Actually, it felt the way it usually does when i do an egg treatment.

Mayo & egg hair mask

Mayo & egg hair mask

I covered my hair with a plastic bag (shower caps just never work for me) then secured that with a scarf. I left the mixture on for about 45 minutes. After that time was up, i rinsed my hair with cold water. You don’t want to use warm or hot water, if you do, you’ll end up with cooked egg(s) in your hair. No bueno.

Mayo

I honestly hadn’t planned on doing a moisturizing deep conditioning treatment afterwards. Mayo is supposed to make your hair soft (or so they say). My hair was still hard after the treatment, not necessarily a bad thing. The way it felt, that just means that the treatment worked (as a strengthening treatment). I think adding an egg to my mixture is what caused my hair to feel hard. I’ll have to use mayo on its own to see if thats the case. Another reason for doing the deep conditioning treatment afterwards was because my hair stunk :/ It stunk of mayo and egg uugghh! Had to get rid of that.

Moving along…The last step to my seemingly long wash day was the actual deep conditioning treatment. This time i didn’t bother adding anything to the product. I used it as is (left it on as i worked out). My hair softened up and smelt fruity in the end πŸ™‚

Perfect Cosmetics hot oil hair cream

Perfect Cosmetics hot oil hair cream

Deep conditioning

I air dried it in a bun similar to this one.

old pic

old pic

My last protein treatment was about 9 months ago and my last henna treatment was 7 weeks ago

10 thoughts on “Egg and Mayo hair treatment

  1. Pingback: Update on mayo treatment | hairjunkie2011

  2. Pingback: Recent purchases|May | hairjunkie2011

  3. Pingback: Relaxer prep |May | hairjunkie2011

  4. Pingback: 5 months post relaxer update | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

