Fitness update | September

I haven’t done one of these since July! Feel free to guess why :/

Short version: I haven’t been working out, am now taking a multivitamin, herbal teas quell my appetite, i eat less frequently and in moderation, i drink lots of water, i’ve cut down on my sugar and carb intake. Through all these, i still enjoy my cheat meals starting Friday through Sunday πŸ˜€
_____________________________________________________________________

For those of you who enjoy my long posts, grab a cuppa πŸ˜€

In my July post, i mentioned that i was switching up my workouts, and i did that. The exercises i started doing were more intense which was great. Tough but great. Unfortunately for me, that month turned out to be cake and chocolate month. Seriously. It seemed like everyone was just handing me cakes and chocolates every other day. When they didn’t do that, i bought myself cake and/or chocolate. I’d been turned into an addict! If that was a test by some fitness god, i failed terribly.

August brought with it the realization of just how fragile life is. I also had several doctor’s appointments which left me dosed up for the better part of the month. It wasn’t the best month this year thats for sure, and working out wasn’t really on the agenda. I tried though.

Come September, i was well and all pumped up to live a better life. I started taking a multivitamin and an omega supplement. I cut down the frequency of my eating to 3 times a day. No snacking in between. If i needed to, i’d grab a fruit (usually a banana). I’d drink upto 2L of water daily…been doing that for a few months now. I don’t even think about it, its become a habit and I always have a bottle of water with me.

I have to say though that i’ve only worked out twice this month and somehow, my body isn’t doing too bad. My cravings seem to have lessened significantly. Am okay having just 3 meals a day whereas before that, i was constantly looking for something to eat every few hours. I cut down my sugar intake from 2.5 tbs of sugar per cup of tea to 1-1.5 tbs. I also cut down my bread intake from 10 slices a day (yep. Am a bread addict) to 3 slices of bread a day.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not starving myself. Am not on a diet either. I love food. I just try to eat clean and have cheat meals over the weekends.

I have to also mention that i noticed that taking a cup of Rooibos tea curbs my sugar cravings. Hibiscus tea does the same thing for me. I don’t drink these (sweet) teas often though (i still have the same packs shown in this post). Sweet and floral teas just don’t do it for me, which explains why i still have lots of Chamomile tea left too.

I know that i go overboard with the weekend cheat meals. My out-of-town Bestie has been around the past few weekends and we’ve been living it up like we are being paid to do so. That means, among other things, having take out/take away meals 2 days out of the week. We’ve decided to start cooking our own meals instead. She’s decided to start working out too, probably because i drive her crazy with all my fitness (& hair) talks πŸ˜€ Well, that and the fact that we kinda spotted abs on me…

*say whaaaat?*

Yep. You read right. Seriously though, when i tighten my core nowadays, i can see my 6-pack peeking through. Like i can see the outline of where abs would form if i got serious about getting them. This is new to me. I’m still fatty fatty with my belly still out there, so i have a lot of work to do. I might post a pic when i get a little confident about showing my tummy πŸ™‚ Kinda makes me wonder what would happen if i committed myself to working out for 2 whole months straight. Only one way to find out right?

Thanks for reading.

7 thoughts on “Fitness update | September

    • There’s a Chinese saying that goes something like, “the journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step”. A step, not a leap. I guess thats what am doing. Glad you’re making these changes too! And thank you for the support, i really want those abs! πŸ˜€

  1. Abs??!! Sooo cool. Now I’m jealous (^_^). Like you, I too have been procrastinating my workouts. I started making progress then life took over…deadlines, meetings, etc. I should get back to working out religiously. You should too. How else will we actually see those abs πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Abs in the making | hairjunkie2011

  3. Pingback: Workouts| Then and now | hairjunkie2011

  4. Pingback: #Failing | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

