Oil prepoo

I keep getting asked to explain each step of my hair regimen (what i do to maintain my hair) so in this and the next few posts i’ll do just that.

In today’s post, i won’t go into much detail because i already have several posts where i explain what an oil prepoo is and why its done. See here, here and here. Here are a few pictures showing how i do an oil prepoo treatment.

started off with a week old textured style

started off with a week old textured style

I don’t start off by combing my hair. I just part it into 4 sections like so…

Sectioned

Working on one section at a time, i apply coconut oil to my scalp and massage it in.

Coconut oil

coconut oil

Then i douse my hair with the oil…

prepoo

Add more oil (just being generous with it)

coconut oil

Run my fingers through my hair to ensure even distribution and to also get rid of tangles…

finger combing

Once all of my hair is oiled up, i put it up in a loose bun

Bun

And then i cover it with a plastic bag, secure that with a headscarf and leave it on for a couple of hours or overnight.

Prepoo

Once that time is up, I hop into the shower, rinse my hair with hot/warm water and proceed to shampooing and conditioning.

After prepoo and shampoo. Before conditioning

After prepoo and shampoo. Before conditioning

The end result is soft, less tangled hair that retains moisture for a longer period. My hair is never oily afterwards.

5 thoughts on “Oil prepoo

  1. Pingback: Time to grow! | hairjunkie2011

  2. Pingback: 5 months post relaxer update | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

