Relaxer update| January

I relaxed my hair last Tuesday (the 20th) at 11 weeks 3 days post. That was a short relaxer stretch for me seeing as i always try to aim for 16 weeks (i usually miss it by a day or two).

The first time i self-relaxed my hair i was at 11 weeks post and i stated then that i would not do such a short stretch again because i kept going over more than just the new growth with the relaxer. This time round, i had no problem so i guess am getting good at this 🙂

Despite working faster, i got relaxer burns. Again. This is the 3rd time its happened. I mentioned the 1st time here and the 2nd time was in November (i don’t have that relaxer update up but i’ll link it below once i publish it.)

Anyway, the relaxer burns keep occurring at the same spots (or so it seems). The second time it happened i assumed it was because i had gotten carried away with the smoothing step. This time i was careful not to smooth too much but that didn’t even help. I guess my scalp is just sensitive in those spots. Next time i’ll relax those areas last and maybe not smooth at all :/

Speaking of not smoothing, that will result in even more textured (texlaxed) hair. I know i said (here) that i would start texlaxing my hair but i couldn’t. I love my current hair texture, but i’ll just roll with whatever texture i get next time from not smoothing.

Onto the actual relaxer day post

Relaxer

I randomly decided to relax my hair (out of frustration mostly) so i didn’t do a strengthening treatment as recommended 1 week prior to relaxing hair. This is what my hair looked like that Monday (i relaxed the following day).

Ponytail

This time i didn’t get any extra free stuff :/

Relaxer

To deep condition, i used a mixture of ORS replenishing conditioner, coconut oil and a few drops of peppermint oil. I deep conditioned my hair in the shower for 10-15 minutes. I’d had a long day and just wanted to be done with my wash once and for all (i.e. not coming back after an hour or so to rinse my hair again).

dc

This was right after i got out of the shower. I just squeezed out the excess water and had no products in my hair.

relaxed

For styling, i decided to do a wash n’ go style. Since my hair is relaxed and i have no curls, i had to work at creating some sort of texture and this is what i came up with…

Wash n go

If you’d like to see how my typical relaxer day goes, check out these previous relaxer update posts.

September 2013 relaxer update

December 2013 relaxer update

April 2014 relaxer update

July 2014 relaxer update

4 thoughts on “Relaxer update| January

  1. Pingback: Relaxer update|May | hairjunkie2011

Leave a Reply

